18
Sep
08

day 14 – the word on the street

Day 14

Day 14

“The Word on the Street”
Wednesday, 9/17/08

Shirt: Obama Good for You – can be purchased through CafePress. The words are made up of fruits and veggies. I thought it was the perfect Obama shirt for a vegetarian. You can get this design on so many items – even long sleeved shirts and sweatshirts for toddlers. I see now that CafePress has shirts designed specifically for vegetarians too.

Where:
1. Work day –
sorry to be so boring today, but I only left the house for a walk through the neighborhood. In the photo, I’m trying out a new recipe for vegan brownies. Our friends just had a baby (Congratulations Susan and Jonathan!), and I know they’ll be in need of chocolate for those long nights. Anyway, I stayed in to catch up on some cooking and cleaning. One of things I didn’t consider when I committed to wearing Obama shirts for 60 days, is that that I’d need to go somewhere each day to keep things interesting. I promise that Thursday will be more exciting to read about!

Wanted to add quickly that it must be a joke that a story about Gov. Palin’s eyeglasses is a headline on cnn.com’s home page, right? I have to admit that I’m worried about this election. This country is in economic crisis and our news media is writing about fashion? Really? We’re so far off right now and the focus seems to be lost in the celebrity. A friend shared this op ed piece with me today, and I recommend you all read it. McCain and Palin are dangerous.

5 Responses to “day 14 – the word on the street”


  1. 1 Deb
    October 6, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    HI!

    i just saw this…we were so happy to see one of our designs here!! as you know–we’re a very small shop–husband and wife team who have never done anything like this before but were so inspired by obama we just went for it anyway–since we’re so small any publicity like this is so helpful!! i haven’t read your other posts yet but i would say McCain and Palin are very dangerous–this latest “he’s not like you” and “paling around with terrorists” i just have to hope that people won’t fall for this crap–that they can see thru it but people get scared and for some bizarre reason they have always felt “safer” with McCain–hopefully his completely erratic behavior has made them scared of him… i may send you links to a few new designs? keep up the good work–we all need to do what we can to support obama–it’s truly critical for the whole country…thanks so much again!!! deb

  2. October 8, 2008 at 11:04 am

    I’m so glad you found my blog. I love your design – just wore it again the other day.

  3. 3 Deb
    October 13, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    i’m so happy to hear that…smile for the day…so, i assume you wouldn’t want to feature 2 shirts from the same site but thought i’d let you know that i have a pretty funny experience (you may not be interested in talking about it anyway) but a real quick summary is my husband decided he wanted to do some “graffiti art” with an obama image (it’s more like what his true art work looks like) and just as he was climbing down from the ladder and i had taken the last photo-5 police cars show up (10 cops!) and we almost got arrested–anyway–the full story has some pretty amusing moments in it and we did 2 t-shirts from photos of the finished product–i also have a pretty good series of photos showing the process from beg. to end (of course–those would only be for you to see if you’re interested)…anyway some of what happened is an interesting take on the kind of support obama has…no problem if you’re really not interested–i realize it may not really fit in with your blog…keep up the good work–i hope people don’t get complacent–as they say –a week in politics is like a year…too much can happen between now and election day…take care…you are welcome to email me (i know you must be busy so only if you get a chance…)…deb

  4. October 14, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I’d love to see the shirt and photos! That’s a funny story 🙂 If you want to send me a shirt, I’d be happy to post the photos here.

  5. 5 Deb
    October 21, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    i’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you–i’ve been sick and of course it’s crunch time…a lot to take care of…thanks for your offer…so if you’d like i could send you (personally) the series of photos showing my husband creating his street grafitti…the thing is for easy viewing i would send them from shutterfly and so you would need to be willing to share an e-mail address for me to send them–i couldn’t find one on this blog–anyway–i understand if you don’t want to do that if all you have is a personal acct. so if you’re interested you can email me at 2theleftdesigns@gmail.com and i’ll send them to you from shutterfly–just let me know…keep up the good work!!! deb


Leave a Reply

