30
Oct
08

day 56 – the word on the street

Day 56

Day 56

“The Word on the Street”
Wednesday, 10/29/08

Shirt: Obama Mama – available at Cafe Press.

Where:
1. Work day and errands –
So, you all watched Barack’s infomercial, right? Did you cry? I don’t know what it is, but every time I watch him make a major speech, these tears just start. Maybe it’s because every time I feel like he’s talking about my family directly. The company my dad worked with for more than 20 years that just closed and has left him unemployed (anyone hiring?), and my mom’s injury that has left her unable to work, and resulted in a large number of surgeries and invasive procedures – all failed. As a result of these things, not only have their incomes and security diminished (no worries, they’ll get them back), but their expenses have increased, b/c now they have to pay for their own health insurance. It’s a flawed system, and thankfully Barack Obama recognizes that. My family is still very fortunate and we’re all holding strong, but I have to say, it’s really hard to watch your parents facing these challenges when they should be on a nice, peaceful path toward the retirement they’ve worked so hard, for so many decades, to reach.

So maybe that’s the reason for the tears, or maybe it’s the hope. “Hope” and “change” are more than just buzz words for Obama’s campaign – I think he’s telling the truth. Trust is a really appealing characteristic in a leader, and I trust him. I believe him. And I’m inspired by him. Idealistic…maybe…but I’ve been called an idealist before, and I don’t mind that at all. How can we improve ourselves, our planet, our world, if we don’t have hope? I think in this country we’ve been hiding behind excuses lies and complacency, and I think we’re better than that.

1 Response to “day 56 – the word on the street”


  1. 1 L
    October 30, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    You’re the cutest wife a guy could have. Keep up the work. I know it’s not always easy to find the energy.

    -L


Leave a Reply

