03
Nov
08

day 60 – the word on the street

Day 60

Day 60

“The Word on the Street”

Sunday, 11/2/08

Shirt: Barack the Vote – can be purchased at Barackawear. This is the blueberry ice style.

Where:
1. Starting the holidays –
I’m part of this local vegan book club, but admittedly, our gatherings are more about the food and friendship than the books. We had our November meeting today and shared an early Thanksgiving dinner. Yum! Nice to be surrounded by a large group of Obama supporters too. We talked a lot about our anxiety about the election – we’re all terrified of Palin. Fortunately the numbers are looking very good for Obama.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the potential long lines Tuesday. I have always been in a position with a lot of flexibility in the past, so I’ve not given a lot of thought to others who are affected by long lines. I’ve always had a job that offered a lot of freedom, and it was no problem for me to come in late or take a long lunch. This year though, I have a commitment to working two full days/week – one of those Tuesdays. On top of that, I have a toddler who is sick and miserable. I hope we’ll see the doctor tomorrow, but what if he’s still not feeling well Tuesday? I can’t expect him to wait in line for hours. I also can’t take hours away from work. I should have voted early and am regretting not doing so, but getting downtown was never really convenient either. No worries, I’ll cast my vote one way or another, but I’m nervous that other Obama supporters might not be able to work through their challenges.

0 Responses to “day 60 – the word on the street”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

