07
Nov
08

mission accomplished

I’ll admit that I have thought about continuing my Obama wearing through the inauguration, but as much as I will miss wearing Obama and communicating with all of you via this blog each day, I’ve decided that my mission is accomplished.

When I think about any successes this blog may have had, I certainly do not think I played even a remotely significant role in the election, but I do somehow feel like I was doing something, and I’m happy to have done my part. Also, my parents voted for the first time in their lives, and while I think Barack Obama’s words had far more to do with that than my words, I might have had a tiny bit to do with keeping them motivated. I’m so proud of them. I’m also excited to share all of this with G some day. That brings me to a question I get a lot, “what are you going to do with all of those shirts?” I think I will pack them up along with a printed copy of the blog, buttons from the Gobama support pack, our yard sign, and other various Obama support items, and maybe someday G or his children or their children can take them to the Antiques Roadshow. *smile* Really, this is what I plan to do. At the very least, it might make a fun show-and-tell item someday. Admittedly, there are some shirts I’d like to continue wearing, and I may do that for a while, but ultimately, they’ll be packed away.

So, you may have noticed that day 60 came on Nov. 2nd, rather than the 3rd. Math has never been my strength. At any rate, it worked out well b/c on day 61, G was terribly sick, requiring a visit to the doctor, and the last thing I wanted to do was take a photo and blog. So maybe there was some foresight in my math error.

I was so fortunate to receive shirts from so many generous individuals and companies. CafePress was amazing to me as were many other shirt designers/printers. I also cannot believe that people actually read my blog. I don’t know who all of you are, but I really do appreciate you checking in each day. Seeing the number of people reading definitely kept me motivated.

I’m excited for the next four years. I’m hopeful that things in this country will improve for G’s generation, and this his will be a generation far less apathetic than my own. I’m hopeful that my dad and other people in a similar situation will find the employment and security they deserve. I’m hopeful that this country remains motivated and involved and continues to “question authority” as we move forward with President Obama. Obama cannot be the change alone, WE are the change.

Finally, I’ll leave you with one final freebie. MoveOn is offering a free “Yes we did!” sticker.

Yes we did!

4 Responses to “mission accomplished”


  1. 1 L
    November 7, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Hi honey-
    Thank you so much for writing this blog. The cool thing about this campaign is that it took voices everywhere talking to the people around them to make it successful. Keeping people informed. Motivating others to vote. Providing smiles when it seemed like smiling was the most difficult. All those voices–voices just like the one you found with this blog–rose up to a low rumble and then eventually a huge roar and ultimately a sigh of relief and then tears of joy. None of that would have been possible if it weren’t for you and the hundreds of thousands of others doing the same thing you’ve done here, whether it was in neighborhoods, at Starbucks or online. Every part of this campaign was essential in creating the change we need. With Obama at the wheel and your optimism on public display, I’m hopeful the future will be better.

    Isle of view!

    -L

  2. November 20, 2008 at 3:10 am

    I loved your blog – no political spin, no complicated dissection of the events on the campaign trail – just a straightforward, wholesome look into the life of one serious Obama supporter.

    If you’re going to put those shirts away, look into the best way to store clothes for a long time. I grew up in the drycleaning business, and one of our services we offered was wedding gown preservation. We sent the gowns to a company that cleaned, repaired, and then presented the dress on a cardboard torso form, vacuum packing inside a box that was covered with archival quality heavy duty plastic so the bride could look at the dress.

    It’s too expensive a process to do all your shirts, but the vacuum packing part might be a good idea to avoid dry rot. I’m sure someone on the internet has a inexpensive solution.

    It was great to see your smile everyday.

  3. November 20, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Thanks Brown Man. I loved seeing you check in here each day and really appreciate you spreading the word about what I was doing. Good point about preserving the shirts. I will do some research on that, b/c I honestly hadn’t given it much thought. I enjoy your blog very much too. It’s amazing how we can become connected through electronic writing and shared passions.

  4. November 21, 2008 at 1:16 am

    Indeed it is.

    Good luck with whatever it is you want from this life!


Leave a Reply

